5 TIPS TO SAVE MONEY

Disclaimer: The images below aren’t mines, credits to the owners.

This summer, I wanted to enjoy it, so whenever me and my friends plan something, I would always go because You Only Live Once, right? I even said in my Spring Wrap Up that if we worry about money, then we won’t really enjoy life.

But the more I spend, the more I feel guilty for spending on things I don’t really need, so I couldn’t avoid not thinking about money.

I got myself thinking about ways I can change that; have fun, but also save money. I got myself thinking about minimalism. I’m not an expert on it whatsoever, I’m still learning. I’ve been watching Muchelleb and Sarah Nourse on Youtube, and they both inspire me to become a minimalist, but also become a much positive person.

In this post, I’ve gathered some tips/tricks on how to save money. Some of these are what I’ve done before I started my “YOLO” lifestyle and some are tips that I’ve gotten from different sources online and in real life.

Now, I’m not saying I’m not going to live my YOLO lifestyle anymore. I think sometimes it’s nice to just go for things to enjoy the moment, but this time I also want to be careful in what I’m spending my time and money on. Because let me tell you, when I’m out with friends, and we’re all having fun, I could care less about money, and of course I regret spending too much the day after.

Ok, let’s start.

TIP #1: Learn how to say “no” 

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.40.07 PM

For example, a close friend of yours invites you to go out for a drink, you know you’re going to spend, so why not refuse the offer? Of course, you can’t always refuse. Personally, I don’t like it when I keep inviting a friend and they never come. It just sucks you know? Just refuse once in a while.

You can also be the one to suggest you guys do something else. For example, a picnic, or a movie night at your place.

TIP #2: Talk to your friends about your situation

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.41.24 PM

Beforehand, tell your close friends that you’ve spending a lot, so you can’t really hang out. If they’re really your true friends, they will understand, and they might also plan another thing where you can all hang out without spending too much money. This kind of relates to the first tip.

TIP #3: Leave your wallet at home

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.41.51 PM

This really works. I did this during my last two semesters of college because I tend to spend a lot on coffee, muffin, etc. So, I just leave my wallet home, and bring snacks, make my own coffee, and bring lunch.

If you leave your wallet at home, you won’t be spending for sure. Even though you really want something, you just can’t buy it because you don’t have money with you. And you know what else can happen? Maybe by the time you get home you wouldn’t even want it anymore.

But if you’re going to a place where you need to spend, just bring the amount that you need.

TIP #4: Use what you already have

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.42.31 PM

If you have clothes, why buy more? If you have food, why eat out? You want a new book? Check your library. You want to be tipsy? Don’t sleep and drink coffee. haha–

but seriously.

Another example is when your friends invite you to hang out at a restaurant because it’s been a while since you all saw each other. You can tell them you can’t spend, or you can eat the food you have at home before you go; that way, you will be full enough to order less food a the restaurant.

TIP #5: Avoid malls and online shopping

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.42.55 PM

This can be hard if you like shopping, so it’ll take more effort to achieve this. First, you should unsubscribe to all emails from stores, so you won’t see their promotions and discounts. Second, take the path where you won’t be near malls. If that’s not possible, just look straight ahead, focus on where you’re going; if you look or just glance at a store, it’s over. You might see something you like and BOOM, $$$$$. Unless of course, you’re using tip #3. (;

Thanks for reading!

I will be doing another post just like this one, but with a different topic.

I will also write about minimalism, and when, why and how I started practicing it.

 

Leave a Reply

