Review: Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

First book in a series!
16102004So, let me start with a small summary.

This romance/erotic novel is about a girl named Chloe Mills who is a determined and hard working woman, and is about to get her MBA. She has been working at the Ryan Media(a business company) for years, but recently, the youngest son of Elliot Ryan (owner) has returned from France and ends up being Chloe’s current boss (in her department). Unfortunately, besides his beautiful appearance, everything else is ugly as he turns out to be an arrogant, stubborn bastard, and Chloe is constantly trying to calm her nerves whenever he throws her orders.

But, of course, they find each other attractive, and they can’t stop themselves from making a move. So that’s what happens and the rest is history!

Okay, let’s get to my thoughts.

I DID NOT expect this to have so much, I mean SO MUCH sex scenes. I must have missed the fact that this is considered an erotic novel, and not just a romance. I was expecting it to be more like New Adult.

But still, I didn’t hate it. I was just surprised.

The storyline is quite interesting. I’ve been annoyed with some of the tropes presented in this novel before, but because I’m currently in the mood for romance, I read past that.

I like how tough Chloe is. It makes her a great protagonist to read. Besides sex, Chloe doesn’t let Barrett get everything he wants. She’s not easily controllable outside sex.

IT sounds really bad if you think about it; but to be honest in all the romance I’ve read, most of the female protagonists can’t control themselves when it comes to sex. So if you’re annoyed with that fact, you probably need to put romance novels aside.

There’s also a sense humour throughout the novel which I really had fun reading.

I’m currently reading the second book, and it’s going well so far.

I recommend this to people who love steamy romance of course. If you don’t, then you won’t like this book.

I gave this book 4/5 STARS!

Leave a Reply

