Looking back: SUBBAN/WEBER trade…

6fe2d87dad15cd7ec1e1c28a7569816b
credits to the photo owner

On June 29th, 2016 I was at my grandma’s house hanging out with my 4 year-old cousin when my dad called from work. Confused, I answered, “Hello?”

“Oh, they trade SUBBAN–” he started saying, but I stopped him as my heart dropped from my chest.

“WHAAAAT?……….For who?”

“Yeah, for Weber from Nashville!!!” he shouted on the phone. He sounded happy, but pissed at the same time which was confusing me even more.


Now, a year and a day later, I still don’t know how I feel about that trade. All I know is that I miss Subban, but I also like Weber.

To be honest, even before the trade, I already liked Weber. I knew he had a great, strong shot, but I didn’t really watch him play enough to judge his defensive or offensive play.

I started liking hockey about the same time PK Subban became part of the HABS’ roster in the 2010 NHL Playoffs. Back then, I didn’t know much. All I knew was Halak was better than Price, Sidney Crosby is unfortunately not a HAB and that for some reason my favourite player was Maxim Lapierre.

Through the years after that, I learned about hockey and grew a passion for it. I appreciated hockey players more than I did at first (how hard they work and all), I learned about trades and knew I didn’t like them.

I met PK for the first time, I think in 2013 and he was really nice, but serious (probably tired from practice). The second time I met him was at the blood donation at the Bell Centre in 2015 and he was really fun.

He’s as funny, confident and nice as he is on TV. I might not know him personally, but I know he’s a good person. So all the shit they say about him being a distraction, I don’t believe it. I know there’s a much bigger reason on why they traded him. They don’t want to admit it because they would sound like hypocrites. In my opinion anyway. It doesn’t mean it’s true. That’s just what I think.

So, when PK got traded, I couldn’t believe it. Not only me but probably more than half of the HABS fans. He was a great entertainer and an even greater player with a huge talent. He can make the crowd go wild. Yes he makes turnovers/mistakes but who doesn’t??? Have you seen the HABS’ turnovers this past season?

I then gave Weber a chance because its not his fault PK is gone.

I gotta say Weber was amazing with the habs especially when he scores those Canon shots during the PP.

What was really annoying though is the Subban/Weber tweets. People would say something like “Subban who?” Everytime Weber does something spectacular. I mean I could easily quit twitter to avoid those but I want to read updates and also tweet about the HABS too, just not about the fact that Weber was playing better than PK.

IMG_20151119_142620

Anyway, it’s really hard to be a habs fan. I’ve gotten used to some struggles, but apparently not all of them. Sometimes I ask myself why can’t I just like another team, like the Penguins. But the thought just doesn’t sound so appealing. I can’t not be a HABS fan. I can’t hate them permanently. I can’t be a huge fan of another team other than the HABS. So even though I don’t agree with their decisions, I have no choice but to deal with it.

I will always admire PK as a person and an athlete. I appreciate everything he did for the city of Montreal. Maybe one day I’ll get over this trade, but a year is not enough to forget and move on even if Weber did awesome.

Leave a Reply

