Review: The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire & Thorns #1) by Rae Carson

  • 10429092Genre: YA High Fantasy
  • Publication date: September 20th, 2011
  • Publisher: Greenwillow
  • Number of Pages: 423 (Hardcover)
  • Date Read: January 10th, 2017
  • Rating: 3/5

GR Summary: 

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

My review:

Finally read this!

I find this first book has potential in getting better. Based on the ratings, it will. With that being said, I will continue on with the series even though I only find this book ok.

I’m still a little confused on what’s going on with the world. I wish there are a little bit more details in what the conflict is. I mean I kind of understand, but at the same time I’m still uncertain about some things. I feel that some scenes are a bit short/rushed. For me, in this genre of high fantasy, it’s easy to get lost if things aren’t described clearly or enough. I hope the next books will clear up everything I did not get in this first book.

Now, the positives! There are some plot twists that I did not expect and if I expected them, it’s because I read so many reviews about this book before reading it. haha.

I really, really love the main character Elisa! She is really different, she is not the typical YA protagonist with a perfect body, perfect personality, perfect everything. She is dark skinned and overweight. There’s nothing wrong with that; but in a lot of YA novels, most of the female characters are white, tall and skinny. So, this is a really nice change.

I can relate to Elisa in so many ways. One, is that she gets hungry all the time. I’m so like that and sometimes I worry about my weight, but you know what? Screw it. Another thing is that we are both anxious about making decisions or doing something really important. We both wish another person was there to guide us or to make the decision for us. I appreciate how even with those worries, Elisa develops a certain courage and uses her intelligence to make decisions herself without depending on anyone. She becomes independent and it’s so great to read how she grows into this independent princess. It shows, in a way, that women can be brave and independent and can survive without a male.

If you’re looking for a diverse YA novel, I recommend this to you. There is romance, awesome female protagonist, good secondary characters and many twists and turns. The beginning is slow, I have to admit, but once you get passed that, you’ll be fine.

About the author:

4074051

 

“I write books about teens who must do brave things. I’m originally from California, but I now live in Arizona with my husband, who is the smartest and therefore sexiest man I know. My books tend to contain lots of adventure, a little magic and romance, and smart girls who make (mostly) smart choices. I especially love to write about questions I don’t know the answers to.”

Site: http://raecarson.com/

Leave a Reply

