Review: P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

  • 25486998Genre: YA Contemporary
  • Publication date: July 26th, 2016
  • Publisher: Point
  • Number of Pages: 330 (Hardcover)
  • Date Read: January 6th, 2017
  • Rating: 3.5/5

GR Summary:

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

My review:
I’ve been wanting to read this ever since I heard about it. Fortunately, I got a chance to read one of Kasie West’s books before called The Fill-In Boyfriend, and loved it. However, I didn’t have high high expectations for this book because of the mixed reviews I’ve read.

I have to say, I almost gave up on this book. I even thought, “I’m glad I didn’t purchase this book and just borrowed it from the library” , but there was just something in me that told me to keep going.
AND I’m SO GLAD I did. The second half of this book was really GOOD. Just like The Fill-In Boyfriend, the romance was swoon worthy! Except when he calls her “adorable”, that just made me cringe lol. It’s just me I guess.

I can’t really say this was really predictable. I had my suspicions, my guesses and predictions, but I was never sure. It didn’t surprise me, but sometimes I didn’t expect something to happen even though I guessed it could happen. If you know what I mean…

As of the characters, there were a lot of them that I didn’t really care about or didn’t understand their “role” in the story. I feel like some of them are just there as an “ornament” character, but then they keep appearing for some reason.

All things considered, I give the first half a 2/5 stars and the second half a 5/5 stars which results to a rating of 3.5/5 stars!

About the author:

5027236

I write YA. I eat Junior Mints. Sometimes I go crazy and do both at the same time. My novels are: PIVOT POINT and its sequel SPLIT SECOND. And my contemporary novels: THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, ON THE FENCE, THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND, PS I LIKE YOU, and BY YOUR SIDE. My agent is the talented and funny Michelle Wolfson.

Site: http://www.kasiewest.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

