REVIEW: The Deal (Off-Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy

  • 24920901Genre: New Adult/ Romance (Hockey Player Love Story)
  • Publication date: February 24th, 2015
  • Publisher: Elle Kennedy Inc.
  • Number of Pages: 342 (Kindle)
  • Date Read: December 13th, 2016
  • Rating: 5/5

GR Summary:

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cockycaptain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

…and it’s going to be oh so good

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

My Review:

Cheesy? Typical? Uncomfortable? NO.NO.NO.

THIS BOOK IS SOMETHING ELSE. You like romance? Read this and you won’t be disappointed, trust me.

If you didn’t know already, I’m a HUGE hockey fan. Not because the players are attractive, which I gotta admit they are, but just the sport itself is just really addicting and I just love the feeling of the game. I love how passionate the players and fans are. I love it when we win, I hate it when we lose, It frustrates me when my team plays bad, I stress the f out in overtimes and shootouts because my team usually lose in those. But my point is, HOCKEY is my favourite sport to watch and if you love it too, you know how I feel. So, when I heard about this book, I really wanted to read it.

Now back to the story. SHIT. IT’S FKN AWESOME. It’s not your typical New Adult Romance. Okay. Let me tell you what’s in here:

Love/Hate Relationship

Romantic Comedy

Dirty Talk (obviously, it’s New Adult)

Characters with Dark Past

Likable protagonist

Main male character you’ll fall in love with for sure (if not, something is wrong)

Basically.

So, Hannah is not the usual new adult female protagonist you would expect. She doesn’t fall in love at first sight with Garrett, ok. I’m glad because that trope really annoys me a hell lot. What I really love is that the author really develops the relationship between these two characters and it’s not even boring to read. Sometimes, couples takes a long time hooking up and I get bored with the waiting, mostly because nothing is really happening and I don’t feel like the relationship is going anywhere and then suddenly BOOM, sex. But here, the relationship building is GREAT. I can read the dialogues a million  times and I wouldn’t stop laughing. The characters in this book are hilarious and they won’t just make you go “haha” chuckle, but a real belly laugh. This book will make you pee in your pants. Okay, not that much but you know–

Now, if you like hockey, romance, entertainment, laughter and you want a quick read to escape reality because it can suck sometimes. Read this.

This is the first book of the Off-Campus series. Each book is a companion novel to this, meaning you don’t have to read them in order if you don’t want to. You can read each book as a standalone, but I recommend you to start with this one and then see after.

That’s all I’m going to say. Don’t look much into this, just go read it now and then continue reading reviews. hehe.

I hope you enjoy!

About the author:

A New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author, Elle Kennedy grew up in the suburbs of Toronto, Ontario, and holds a B.A. in English from York University. From an 1935000early age, she knew she wanted to be a writer, and actively began pursuing that dream when she was a teenager.

Elle currently writes for various publishers. She loves strong heroines and sexy alpha heroes, and just enough heat and danger to keep things interesting!

 

One thought on “REVIEW: The Deal (Off-Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy

Leave a Reply

