REVIEW: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

11235712

  • Genre: Ya Scifi, Ya Dystopia, Fairy Tale Retellings
  • Publication date: January 8th, 2013
  • Publisher: Square Fish
  • Number of pages: 387 (paperback)
  • Date read: December 11th, 2016
  • Rating: 4/5

Goodreads Summary: 

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future. Add it to your reading list

My review:

I’m so happy I finally started reading this series! It’s been around for a long time now and for some reason I never got around to reading it. After my fall semester, I kind of got into fairy tale retellings because I took a humanities class that focuses on Fairy Tales and Folklores and we’ve been reading different retellings of traditional fairy tales and I enjoyed so many of them, including the class itself. I guess this is the perfect time to read this series, since I’m really in the mood for this kind of stuff.

Moving on, I’m going to start by talking about the setting.

So, this story takes place in New Beijing! How cool is that!? I don’t remember reading a book that takes place in Asia. This is like, a breath of fresh air. haha.

For the characters.

Cinder, the protagonist, is so unexpected. I love how she is portrayed in the story. She is not afraid to talk back which is something that I have a lot of issues with  when it comes to traditional princesses. Also, the fact that Cinder is cyborg is such a cool thing to be. In this book, I don’t know if it was intentional, but the author seems to make us, the readers, feel that being cyborg is a bad thing. I kept thinking: Cinder, just stop being ashamed, cyborgs are cool! ahhaha.

Peony, one of Cinder’s stepsisters, is actually nice. I loved her character and I wish we saw more of her. Maybe in the next books, who knows? Pearl, the other stepsis, is just the typical mean girl. Along with Adri, the stepmother/guardian. I didn’t hate them, to be honest, maybe because I expected them to be really mean. So, it didn’t really bother me.

Kai, or should I say, Prince Kai is very likable. I just didn’t feel a deep connection with his character like other male protagonists I’ve loved.

Queen Levana, the antagonist. She is introduced in this book and I felt that she is very dangerous. However, I still want to know more about her character. There are still some questions I have about her.

Dr. Erland makes me feel like he’s the “fairy godmother”. At first, I didn’t trust him at all, but then he starts to make more sense with what he wants to know about Cinder. But a deep part of me still have suspicions towards him.

Iko, oh gosh Iko! I want her in my life. She’s funny and she would make a really really awesome friend in real life. Can I haaaave her puhleeaase?

Overall, this book is really good. I felt that the story really focuses on Cinder and not about Cinder and the prince which I enjoyed a lot. It’s no fun when a story focuses mainly on the romance; we see that a lot in YA and it gets tiring at some point. I predicted so many events and truths that could possibly happen/be revealed and I was right with all of those predictions. I don’t know if it’s because this book is predictable or it’s just me. It’s still really enjoyable and if you haven’t read it yet, I recommend that you should give it a try!

About the author:

4684322

(From Goodreads) She lives in Tacoma, Washington, with her husband and beautiful twin daughters. She is represented by Jill Grinberg. Found out more about her on her website: http://www.marissameyer.com.

One thought on “REVIEW: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

